Swaps: Breakfast for Dinner Rainbow Charm Swap

A few weeks ago I noticed that one of the blogs I follow in my google reader, from the blue chair, was hosting a rainbow charm swap.  I got excited.  I remembered seeing pictures the first time around and thinking “lucky people!  look at all those rainbow coloured charm squares they get to play with!”.  The idea is simple: everyone signs up and then colours are assigned.  Everyone takes five different fabrics in that hue (four prints and one solid), cuts them into charm squares, and sends them in.  Then you get back a charm from everyone else.  Send in five sets of 56 charms (or more, 56 sets of five charms) and get back 280 different charms.

I made a mental note to sign up . . . and promptly forgot about it.  Mental notes don’t generally work all that well for me, at work I always have so much info swirling around that if I don’t write it down in my trusty black notebook, or stick a reminder in Outlook, it’s gone.  So I was a bit disappointed to hear that the swap was full.  But then as luck would have it, someone who missed out decided to host their own!  And that someone is Breakfast for Dinner (thank you!!!).  A swap AND a new blog to follow?  Excellent!

This time around I set an Outlook reminder, and didn’t miss it!  I was assigned Purple (along with a couple of other swap participants), and here are my colour choices:

#1 Pattern: Kate Spain Terrain in Lichen

(Purple) Kate Spain Terrain Lichen Mist

#2 Pattern: Anthology Fabrics Bonjour Oval Eyelet

(Purple) Anthology Fabrics Bonjour Oval Eyelet in Purple

Pattern#3: Jewels in Purple from Outfoxed by Lizzy House

(Purple) Jewels in Purple from Outfoxed by Lizzy House

Pattern#4: Meadow in Purple from Sleeping Beauty

(Purple) Meadow in Purple from Sleeping Beauty

Solid: Dark Violet – Kona by Robert Kauffman

(Purple) Kona - dark violet

Now for the hard part: waiting for the fabric to arrive!

Leave a Reply

