WIP: safari themed baby quilt

It seems like everyone I know is expecting lately.  I feel like I can’t go to a family gathering without someone making a “big announcement”.  It must be my age, or something.

I look on the bright side of things: crafting goals!  It’s tough sometimes to be creative “just for fun”, so it’s nice to have a goal within which to get things done.  Right now I’m getting started on a quilt for one of the (many) expecting mothers, with the hopes of getting this one out of the way so I’m not frantically sewing them all up at the last minute.  The parents have decided to go with a safari theme for the baby’s room.  Check out the set they picked:


I went through my stash and picked out some coordinating colours:

IMG_0420

I’m going to use that charm pack on the right hand side to make a bunch of half square triangles.  Once they are all sewed up I will play around with design, but for now I’m digging the colours.

And in case you were wondering, yes, that’s a shovel you see in the background of the above picture.  This is what our alley looks like at the moment:

IMG_0421

Leave a Reply

