A little bit of background

Way back when I started an Etsy shop (Etsy tells me June 23, 2005).  Etsy was brand new and I figured “Why not?”.  I was already crafting up a storm, why not get other people to buy my stuff?  So I started listing items, and got some sales.  It was fun.  But then I stopped.

I stopped mostly because I realized I wasn’t having fun anymore.  What started off as fun, selling some of the extras of items I was making anyways, turned into a full time “Can this sell?” every time I got the urge to make something.  That quickly became no fun.  I stopped making things just because I felt like it, and creating became a chore.  I also started buying too many supplies.  I had oodles and oodles of fabric and notions and ink, but I wasn’t really using it.  That too had to stop.  I moved out of my parents’ home and into an apartment, and in the process stopped having easy access to a large area in which to craft, and a big laundry sink to use to wash my screens.

But now I’m starting again.  Why?  Because there’s only so much I can create for myself and for my friends and family.  And because time has passed, and I think I can give this another shot.  Another shot at having fun.  I rearranged my apartment so I now have a crafting space, ready to go whenever the mood strikes (err, when its not covered in random junk).  I found a bag of old items, and some of them are really amazing.  I will be listing them in my Etsy shop in the coming days.

In the years that have passed I discovered something new that I love to do: quilt!  I have made quite a few baby quilts for expecting mothers in the past year or so, and I love that it combines activities I already knew how to do (sew, cut, etc), and puts them together into a neat little package.  So I look forward to incorporating new ideas into my craft.

A few of the quilts I’ve made lately:
Baby quilt for Kevin and Laura (the still shot)

Baby Quilt for Julie

P1050816

Leave a Reply

